ISO 16890-1: 2016 is an international standard that relates to the testing and classification of air filters. It replaced the EN779: 2012 standard, which was based on measurements of 0.4μm particle filtration efficiency.

The new standard takes into account filtration efficiency to the range of solid particles (PM) from 0.3μm to 10μm. Classification according to the above standard has been determined based on
o particle size where:
ePM1: 0.3 – 1μm
ePM2,5: 0.3 – 2.5μm
ePM10: 0.3 – 10μm

However, the air filter will be classified into one of the three above groups if its minimum efficiency is 50%. 

For example: a 72% air filter for ePM2.5 particles will be classified as 70% ePM2.5.

What about filters that absorb less than 50% of solid particles in the PM10 group?

They have been classified as coarse filters – ISO Coarse.

Every day, practically all of us still use the classification based on the EN 779: 2012 standard. It is hard for us and our clients to implement the new classification because at first glance it seems incomprehensible and it is easier for us to order the F7 filter than ePM2.5 70%. However, we should remember that the old standard classification is used colloquially and for our use.

Currently, the only applicable standard is ISO 16890.

Of course, there is no unequivocal comparison of both standards, because the ISO 16890 standard uses other particles and other methods to measure the efficiency of filtration.

Below is the classification according to EN 779: 2012 and ISO 16890, as well as an approximate comparison of the classes of the same filters according to the above-mentioned standards based on real test data of 91 filters provided by Eurovent Certita Certification, which reflects the actual overlap of individual classes, based on information from the “Eurovent Certified Performance” program for general ventilation air filters operated by Eurovent Certita Certification.

We manufacture our filters in accordance with ISO 16890.